Higher Diploma in Data Science

The Higher Diploma in Data Science Programme is designed with reference to the needs of the Information and Communication Technology (ICT) industry. The programme aims to provide students with comprehensive data science knowledge and integrated industry and profession-specific skills, together with the necessary competencies to enhance students' employability. Students must complete 63 units which normally require two years of full-time study.

The structure of the curriculum is as follows: 

I) Generic Skills Courses 12 units
II) Discipline Required Courses 51 units
    63 units


I. Generic Skills Courses 12 units
  HDGS0301 English for Business 3 units
  HDGS0303 Practical Chinese Writing* 3 units
  HDGS0305 Personal Growth and Development 3 units
  HDGS0306 Writing Academic English 3 units
  * Non-Chinese speaking students can take CCLC1200 Elementary Chinese as an alternative Chinese Language course to meet the respective graduation requirements concerning the fulfilment of University Core and Generic Skills requirements.  
II. Discipline Required Courses 51 units
  HDDS1101 Introduction to Computing and Programming 3 units
  HDDS1102 Introduction to Database and Big Data 3 units
  HDDS1103 Object-oriented Programming  3 units
  HDDS1104 Operating Systems and Networking  3 units
  HDDS1201 Introduction to Data Science  3 units
  HDDS1301 Fundamentals of Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning  3 units
  HDDS1501 Mathematics for Data Science  3 units
  HDDS1502 Statistics for Data Science  3 units
  HDDS1503 Introduction to Business  3 units
  HDDS2101 Data Structures and Algorithms  3 units
  HDDS2102 IT Professionalism  3 units
  HDDS2201 Data and Visual Analytics  3 units
  HDDS2302 Applied Deep Learning  3 units
  HDDS2401 Cloud Services and Architectures  3 units
  HDDS2402 Cybersecurity Essentials  3 units
  HDDS2403 Applied Network and Data Security  3 units
  HDDS2501 Application Development Project  3 units 
    63 units


Scroll To Top