Minor Programme in Computer Science

Students seeking to pursue the study of the minor programme are required to take three required courses and two elective courses, with at least one course at Level 3 or 4. Please note that no registration priority will be given to enrolment in minor courses. Upon completion of five courses required for the minor programme, students should apply to the Academic Registry for approval.

The structure of the curriculum is as follows:

I) Required Courses 10 units
II) Elective Courses 6 - 7 units
    16 - 17 units


Three Required Courses 10 units
  COMP1005 Essence of Computing# 3 units
  COMP2006 Computer Organization 3 units
  COMP2026 Problem Solving Using Object Oriented Programming 4 units
Any Two of the following Elective Courses 6 - 7 units
  At least one course at Level 3 or 4  
  COMP2015 Data Structures and Algorithms 3 units
  COMP2016 Database Management 3 units
  COMP2017 Operating Systems 3 units
  COMP3005 Design and Analysis of Algorithms 3 units
  COMP3015 Data Communications and Networking 3 units
  COMP3047 Software Engineering 4 units
  COMP4047 Internet and World Wide Web 3 units
  COMP4105 Web Search Principles and Technology 3 units
    16 - 17 units

# This is a required course for Science Faculty students, who need to take an additional Elective Course, i.e. three elective courses in total, in order to fulfil the requirement for Minor Programme in Computer Science.

Scroll To Top